Friday night in Peru. We’ve been here over two months now. We’re in the process of building our house. In fact, the floor is done and the supplies are here for the rest of the construction. We’re settling into quite the routine. We’re making friends. We’re (slowly) learning Spanish. Brian’s out playing soccer. I’m enjoying having a night off from planning school assignments. It’s relatively quiet here on campus. It may smell like manure, but even that is starting to smell like home.

Things are going quite well. But, we’ve hit a few bumps. Brian is my rock. I am forever thankful for him. He’s so wonderful at reminding me of how God has always provided, therefore, He will continue to provide. But, sometimes, I think I need to remember for myself. I appreciate so much of the history of the Israelites because they always reminded their children, year after year, of God’s provisions. The Jews retell stories every year of how God saved them, provided for them, and cared for them. As a Christian, I don’t think I do that often enough.

So, how has God provided for us? For me? This is my reminder list because the waves are starting to rise and I need something (Somebody) to focus on…

  • When we were told the market had slowed down and nobody would buy our house, it sold.
  • When we were told there was no way we could make a profit on a house we’d owned for less than a year (as first time home buyers), we did.
  • When we had no idea where the funds were for candidate orientation, they were provided one week before we had to leave.
  • When we weren’t sure what to do about housing once we left South Dakota, my parents offered us to let us live with them.
  • When we were told there was no way we could raise the funds for cultural training in four months, it came in… with a surplus.
  • Everybody we knew heading to the mission field was under-supported when they left. We were told we could NOT leave under-supported, but we needed to be there a little over a year after we began raising support. Again, it all came in… with a surplus.
  • We didn’t understand why we couldn’t leave for Peru in September, but then we made friends and realized how badly we needed that support system back in the States. If we’d left in September, we wouldn’t have the friendships we have today that are helping us hang on.
  • The funds for our shots came in two weeks before we had to pay for them.
  • We were told to expect to wait six-eight weeks for our visas and we got them in four.
  • We weren’t sure how we were going to afford plane tickets and then Brian found the airline out of Florida that was selling them for $1000 cheaper – per person.
  • We didn’t understand why our Blazer would not sell while we were in Pennsylvania, but it sold immediately once we were in South Dakota last summer. And then, it all made sense when we were able to purchase a car for thousands of dollars cheaper out there than in PA and have Brian and his dad fix it up for us.
  • We weren’t sure what to do with our car once we left the country, but then found out that my brother, who lives in Florida, needed a car desperately, so we were able to drive to Florida and leave the car with him, saving us hundreds of dollars on additional plane tickets.
  • Found out we needed malaria medicine four days before flying to Peru. Thankfully, I had gotten horribly sick two weeks before we moved and had to see a doctor. This doctor just happened to be a Christian and he prayed with me before I left and offered his services, in whatever way possible, once we had moved. He called a prescription of malaria medicine into a random pharmacy in Florida two days before we left the country.
  • We didn’t know what to do about getting extra bags down to Peru since our airline only allowed us one each, but then the only two American students here flew back to the States the same day we flew to Peru and were able to bring those bags with them when they returned.
  • We were issued lifetime residency in Peru with no hassle whatsoever.
  • People have been praying we’d make true friends down here and we already have two couples who have made us feel so at home and are just wonderful friends here.
  • I prayed that God would provide a language helper and make it work out smoothly. The girl who’s teaching me needs help with her basic French class at the university. So, we’re swapping – Spanish for French. Which means I’ll be able to keep up my French, too – in South America!
  • We thought it was a problem that the company that makes our home school curriculum I’m using down here doesn’t ship overseas. But, it turned out to be a blessing in disguise since my friend was able to come for 10 days, clear her mind from issues at home, and help me with my special needs student. She “just so happens” to be nannying for a child with autism, whose actions mirror my child with Down syndrome in my class.
  • Somebody found my only Spanish/English Bible that I thought I’d lost forever two weeks ago and cried and cried because it was a gift and I thought I’d never see it again. Inside, I also keep my favorite devo book, “Looking Unto Jesus”, and I was just devastated to have lost it. It was returned two days ago.
  • The first week of Bible school was candidate orientation for the fourth year students. Each evening was a chapel time and every single evening was exactly what we needed to hear. God has called us; God will provide; God is in control; God is on our side. We are where God wants us to be. Rest.

I’m sure there’s more. In fact, I know there’s more, but some are more personal. As hard as things are right now, waiting for God to provide, I know He will. I know the circumstances are what they are right now just so God can prove it’s all about Him and not about us. When I am weakest, then He is strong. I had my students watch a video of Louis Giglio this week. If you don’t know who he is, google him. He’s amazing. But, one thing he kept saying over and over is that we shouldn’t feel small. We are small. It’s not about us. It’s all about God. I think sometimes the only way God makes that clear to us is when we come to the edge and say, “You’ve got to part the waves because I can’t go through that.” That’s where we’re at. We’re standing at the edge of our own Red Sea and waiting for God to part the waters that are way over our heads. I don’t know how He’ll do it and I certainly don’t know when, but I can’t wait to see it when it happens.

God, don’t let me miss it.

