My biggest embarrassing flaw is my ease at getting motion sick. It’s something I’ve struggled with my entire life and seems to be something that runs in my family. It seemed to dissipate when I was in college, but right before I got married, it reappeared and has been with me ever since. At times, it’s bad enough that I don’t want to travel anywhere if I can’t do the driving myself. Other times, I’m fine and can even read in the car. I used to love flying, but as the feeling of sickness has increased over the years, my joy of flying has diminished. Greatly. I want so badly to love flying like I used to, but lately, I just can’t bring myself to.

On our way home from Iquitos, I was not able to take Dramamine, my cure-all medicine for motion sickness. Even with it, I tend to get queasy, but at least it eases most of the symptoms. I was utterly terrified to travel Saturday night. Shaking, crying – terrified of traveling. The flight was to be an hour and a half and then it’s a good two hour drive from the airport to home, in South American traffic. I was literally in tears before leaving the home in Iquitos.

I wrote friends asking for prayer. And then Brian and I prayed frequently and specifically before the flight began.

Before getting on the plane, I told God to just take the fear. To hold my stomach, my head, my nerves and to just take whatever feelings are not from Him away because I did not want them. By the time I boarded, I was no longer shaking and my stomach had settled considerably.

I closed my eyes, relaxed… and basically fell asleep.

One song in particular flooded my mind:

“You are so good to me, You heal my broken heart, You are my Father in heaven… You are beautiful my sweet, sweet song… and I will sing again…”

Over and over this song rang through my mind. When the flight got bumpy and I started to feel bad, this song rose in volume and covered it all.

An hour and a half later, we landed smoothly. My husband and our two friends complained of queasy stomachs and headaches from a horrendously bumpy flight. I had fallen asleep. I hadn’t even noticed that it was bumpier than usual.

God is so good to me.

So good to me.

It may sound like such a simple thing, but for me, it was the world. It was such a huge triumph – something only God can do. I wanted to get off the plane and shout it to the world! This was an extremely personal miracle and I couldn’t wait to share it with people.

God is personal. God is mine. God is good.

