I saw you today for the first time.

So tiny. Not even the size of the end of my pinky. So incredibly tiny.

The doctor said you’re not a baby yet. I’d have to wait for two more weeks before I’d know if I was truly pregnant. She said you’re just a “thing” growing in my uterus.

I know better.

When I saw you, I didn’t see a speck. I saw a tiny little baby, planted by God Himself. You literally look like God placed you right into my body. Your father and I had nothing to do with it. God made you. And He gave you to us.

I keep thinking about how God has said that He has written down our times “when as yet there were none.” He knows who you will be, what you will do, what you will look like, when you will rebel against us, and when you will make the decision to accept Him as your Savior. He knew you and everything about you before we even knew you existed.

God has carefully formed you. At this moment, when the doctor thinks that you’re just a “thing”, you have everything you need to grow into an adult. Nothing will be added. Nothing will be taken away. You are complete. Perfectly whole. Exactly how God wants you to be. All you need to do now is grow.

So, grow, my little one. Grow to be who God wants you to be. Grow to be a healthy little human being. Grow carefully. Grow safely. We’ll protect you.

We love you so much more than we could express. We’ve prayed for you, my tiny one. We’ve prayed so hard. But, we realize, now more than ever, that you are not ours to hold onto. You are a precious gift from God that we gladly give back to Him so He can use you however He wants.

Oh, my tiny one, I can’t wait to see you. To hold you. To give you a name and tell you about this wonderful, marvelous God that took the time to make you. He loves you more than we do. You are so precious. So, so special.

Grow, my tiny one. We’ll see you very soon.

Love,

Mommy and Daddy

February 4, 2010

Baby Biegert, Week 7

