For Thankful Monday…

  • A good, productive week last week. I felt good 90% of the week and was able to get a lot done.
  • Homemade dinners that make the whole house smell like home.
  • Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups and mini Cadbury eggs from the States!
  • The safe arrival of new co-workers.
  • A fun birthday party for the newest 7 year old in our BCM family.
  • Good conversations with great friends.
  • Curtains that we bought in June finally getting hung up – the baby room already looks better!
  • The funds to buy the rest of the curtains for the upstairs! Finally!
  • Warm, summer weather, despite all the flies.

And for healthcare…

So, I guess the healthcare bill passed. I have purposefully kept myself out of the loop on this whole thing. To be honest, I don’t understand everything because I just plain haven’t read enough. If we had TV and the news or something, I’m sure I’d be much more in tune with what’s going on. I know it’s bad. And I know it will affect us, even though we’re thousands of miles away. It’s incredibly disappointing that our “representatives” didn’t listen to the voice of the American people. Defeats the purpose of a democracy. I watched one interview last week online with Obama and Brett from Foxnews. I was honestly surprised that in twenty minutes, Obama basically said nothing, never answered one question, and yet complained when Brett would interrupt to get him back on track. Twenty long, long minutes of NOTHING. Only a politician. If he was in my class, I’d fail him for public speaking. You need to say SOMETHING and “uh” is not a word, Mr. President. If my tenth grader can’t use it, neither can you.

There’s a reason I keep myself out of the political stuff. I get too heated up over it and then I can’t sleep and it’s all I talk about and I get really worked up…and Brian gets really upset. I cherish my marriage. Therefore, I don’t watch politics. šŸ™‚

On the plus side, I agree with one of my friend’s Tweets – God is still on His throne. He’s still in control. None of this has surprised Him. Once again, going through the Daniel study is just perfect timing for this. God sets up rulers and He dethrones them. He gives them their power and He will take it away. They are ultimately responsible to Him and we can know for sure that God, as Judge, will vindicate.

However, I am always appalled at the reactions of some believers. It’s like they honestly think that just because they’re elected officials, they’re going to make the right decisions and then are shocked when they don’t. Well, duh. America is not a Christian nation anymore; we can’t expect non-believers to act like they’re believers. I think there’s a couple of things to keep in mind, for those that are hyper-worked-up over this whole thing.

#1 – You still need to respect authority. I know, they made an awful decision and it looks like things are going to go downhill. I know your life is going to drastically change and the lives of our children will never look the same. But – for whatever reason – God has ultimately been the One Who has allowed these men and women to be in charge, at least for the time being. It’s our job to respect them. We don’t need to agree with them. But, we do need to respect them.

#2 – We know how this is all going to end. Why are we worried? It’s like global warming, for instance. I know that there will never be a worldwide flood ever again. Therefore, I’m not worried if a few glaciers melt. I also know that the world is not going to spontaneously combust. That’s not how it ends. We are protected. Stuff like that doesn’t bother me. Now, according to my eschatology, I don’t believe the U.S. is going to be a world power when the end times do arrive. So that means that the U.S. needs to go down in power before the end times can begin. I don’t know if that means the U.S. will cease to exist or if it will just no longer be as powerful – or powerful at all – I just know that the U.S. is not on the screen during Revelation. Which means something has to happen, probably before the Rapture. Now, the same people that are freaking out (and I do mean freaking out) over the government right now are the same ones that are convinced the rapture will happen in like the next ten years. Well, then it stands to reason that something substantial has to happen to the U.S. before then. I’m not worried. I’d much rather usher in the Rapture and the reign of Christ than have it be stalled another three hundred years, wouldn’t you?

#3 – If you’re of the bent that the end times are rapidly approaching, then you should also realize that the world is going to get worse for believers. The U.S. has had it so easy for…. well, the entire time it’s been in existence. Jesus promised that each of us would face opposition and it would get worse as time went on and the end times approached. Something, therefore, needs to happen in the U.S. for it to “get worse.” Face it. We’re living in a world where things go downhill, not up. If you want Jesus to come back, realize it’s going to get harder, not easier. Realize the world we’re bringing our kids into is going to be worse than the one we were born into. It’s a sign of the times and it merely means that Jesus is coming back a whole lot sooner than we thought.

Now, personally, I’m not of the bent that the Rapture will happen during my lifetime. I do believe it will happen soon, but “soon” on the scope of eternity is still long on the timeline of humanity. I think we’re much, much closer than we’ve ever been. Every day brings us closer than we were yesterday. We’re getting there, of that I’m sure. And honestly, if I see it in my lifetime, that’s fine with me, too. Regardless, the world has to get much, much worse before it does happen and I don’t think we’re there yet.

All that to say, rest. Rest in the assurance that God has it under control. That sounds trite and trivial, but honestly – what else can we do? Worry doesn’t add anything and it’s a sin TO worry. Just let it go and trust that God knows what He’s doing. We’ll be okay. Maybe it won’t be ideal, but we’ll all be okay. This isn’t home anyway. We’re just passing through.

