Blurb. blurb. blurb. blurb.

Just a lot of blurbs in my brain tonight. I know I won’t be able to sleep unless I put them somewhere…

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Can I just vent for a minute here? A team is coming to “help” on the 19th of December… through Christmas Day. They fly out… from our airport two hours away… on Christmas Day. They are around for the last four days of a solid two week outreach campaign – one that’s being rehearsed for now and will be like a machine by then. I have no clue what their motive is for coming at such a random time. I have no clue how they’ll fit in or even who will be chauffeuring them around and making sure they’re all okay. There’s already talk of how all of us who live here will be “required” (I say that loosely.. stuff like this is never really “required”, but “greatly frowned upon” if not done) to celebrate Christmas with them on the 24th. Sometimes, I just don’t get teams. I think they forget that Americans aren’t the only ones who celebrate holidays, have families, and make plans. I think they forget that even though the time frame is convenient for them (although, when is a bunch of teenagers/college kids coming over Christmas break convenient?), it still means all of us here have to drive them around, feed them, make sure they have a good time, and include them in things that are set up back in November. If I sound bitter, I’m really not. I appreciate teams coming down, I’m just confused as to the timing of this one and wish beyond BELIEF that there was better planning for stuff like this. I could go on and on, but I won’t. I’ve probably said too much as it is. 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I finished today teaching my little girls their science class for the year. We talked more about traveling to the moon and all the different planets. I feel like I’m just now getting a taste of how huge our universe is. There was a picture in our book that was taken by the Hubble Telescope. It was just a panoramic view, all black, with these little, blurry white dots. The book said that every single one of those dots – more than we could count – were galaxies – the same size as ours and bigger. What in the world. I just can’t even wrap my mind around that! I keep reminding the girls that no matter how huge the universe is, God still holds it all in the palm of His hand – and He knows our names! I’ve said it enough now that when I ask them, “And Who made all this?”, they both hold their hands out, palm up, and say, “God! And He holds it all right here!” That conversation always ends with one of them saying, “I wanna see God!!” so sweet. 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I got a new book from Sonlight in the package my mom sent down with our friends. I SO HIGHLY recommend these books – go — go right now and get them! Genius books. They’re called “Zero” and “One” by Kathryn Otoshi. “Zero” is the story of the number zero. He thinks because he’s empty inside that he’s worthless, so he tries to be like the other numbers. Then, one of them says he’s not empty – he’s whole. Right in the middle. And with him, the numbers can count more. Together. The other book, “One“, is a metaphor on bullying. All the colors stand up to red and end up realizing that they all can make a difference – but it all starts with “one.These books are so cool. The graphics are unique – even how the pages are written is fun and interesting. The stories are simple – no long, wordy books. And the messages are extremely clear. They open up a lot of opportunities to discuss the lessons and the books look interesting enough that kids will want to keep flipping through them and re-reading them. Genius. Only downfall? I wish I’d thought of them myself! I love metaphorical stuff like this. 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I have to speak in Spanish Friday afternoon during my kids’ program for their parents and friends. I feel like I’m doing fine in Spanish… until I speak in front of my students. I’m 100% positive they just like the fact that they’re on the other side of the correcting and can correct my Spanish for me. But, a few of them laugh at my mistakes and one of them just makes me feel stupid. I know, I know, they’re kids. But, kids are the most honest critics, right? 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I started working out a few weeks ago. I’m trying to work out almost every night, at least as often as possible. I’m using my Wii Fit (probably the best investment we’ve made in a long time) and loving it. I have been horribly depressed about how I look lately, though. Just rock-bottom, pit-of-despair depressed and I know that’s wrong, but that’s how I feel. I’m sick of how I look and I just feel like everyone else notices how awful I look and judge me for it. What really gets to me, though, is that no matter how much I work out or how well I eat, nothing ever changes. My stupid dead thyroid took with it my metabolism. I know I will never look how I did when I was 17 – especially not with a dead thyroid and a post-baby body. But, I just wish I looked… nice

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I love receiving newsletters from our missionary friends around the world. One of my favorites comes from Brasil. We have friends from Bible school who are married, have three kids, and are working in Brasil (where she grew up). They are making videos (in multiple languages) that walk you through the entire Bible. But, they are also teaching Bible clubs and working with slum kids. Their stories are so cool. Cool enough that some days I want to drop what I’m doing here – teaching Christian kids – and go work in the slums of Brasil! It’s just so cool to hear them say, “And this little girl, whose dad died by being shot 9 times two weeks ago, is excited about receiving her first Bible.” Oh the stories they have. It’s really neat. Ever want to be truly encouraged and challenged, read newsletters from missionaries actively serving the Lord. 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I’m sucked into the X Factor. We’re at least a few weeks behind the States (but I’m not sure how long it’s been airing up there) since they talked tonight about “next week is Thanksgiving.” So, don’t spoil it for me! However, I must say, as much as I enjoy watching these people sing for 5 million dollars – that lifestyle doesn’t interest or tempt me at all. I am perfectly fine being poor, living in South America, and not even famous enough to have a big blog following. “In all these things, I have learned to be content.” So, more power to them. Glad I’m not one of them.

Blurb Over.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Ellie
    Dec 11, 2011 @ 22:28:28

    argh! So sorry about the team coming and taking hours of your Christmas to do their airport trip! Wish you could just hire a bus to take them to the airport and then give them the bill. And all your pre-Christmas holiday time, too! sigh…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

November 2011
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
