Yup, yup. There he is! Little Junior is on his (or her!) way! I’m 11 weeks along and hence the reason for the lull on the blog. We found out on Valentine’s Day and tried really hard to keep it a secret as long as possible. We had our first ultrasound at 7wks and heard the beautiful sound of the heartbeat. Then this past Monday, we saw our little guy (or girl…) doing flips and twists and waving and dancing – so blissfully oblivious to his mama’s suffering! I’ve been incredibly sick with this baby. I started off great – barely even noticed I was pregnant. And then, all of a sudden, it just hit like a wrecking ball. Last week, I thought I was pulling out of it, so I made the awful mistake of eating two large, Peruvian meals that were offered to me on Friday. And I’ve been paying for it ever since. Since Saturday morning, I’ve been sicker than a dog. Finally today, Wednesday, I’m feeling more like myself, besides still being very tired and some residual effects still. My husband and baby got a touch of it, too, but I mixed mine with regular ol’ morning sickness and wow, killer combo! I barely dragged myself to my doctor’s appointment Monday morning, but I’m glad I did because she got me nausea medicine and gave advice on a bland diet and told me to stay in bed for at least two to three more days and rest. Brian took her advice to heart and has been waiting on me hand and foot since then – taking care of Elena, not leaving the house more than necessary, and being just all-in-all amazing.

School starts the first week of April and this year I’ve lightened my own load substantially. I think before I wanted to have control of the school since the first year, I felt like I didn’t have good enough control and it bothered me. So the last two years, I had a tight rein on the school and controlled everything. However, after muddling my way through last year with a toddler and 5 students, I realized I needed to relinquish the control and get some more help. So, I have people tutoring and all-out teaching. I’m doing less and what I am doing, I’m doing mostly at home. It’ll be quite the change! But, I think it’s what’s best for my family this year.

So, here’s to the first 11 weeks down and the next 29 to go! At least life is never boring.

