Tags

, ,

I got side-tracked today and ended up reading a bunch of my old blog entries. I had forgotten that I used to do “Grateful Tuesday.” I’m not savvy enough to link myself to any other blogs; it was just something I did on my own. I think I might start that up again. So, today, I will choose to be grateful and I thought I’d share a few of these things with you. We’ll see how long I can keep up “Grateful Tuesday” this year.

Our gas for the shower ran out today. This may not sound like something to be thankful for, but really, it’s the fact that it JUST ran out TODAY that is note-worthy. We change our gas like clockwork every month. We have never gone more than a month and a half on the same tank of “shower gas.” This time our shower gas went a solid four months. We changed the gas for our oven twice in that time frame. We are 100% positive this was a miracle. No other explanation. Thank you, Lord, for our seemingly never-ending gas! It was a true blessing to not have that expense the entire summer.

This little one started moving to where I could feel it yesterday! Actually, technically, I think I felt it last Wednesday, but yesterday, there was no doubt in my mind! So exciting.

My other little munchkin is a super blessing – something I’m thankful for every day, regardless of the snot nose, the tantrums, and the blatant disobedience. Just last night, I looked at Brian and said again, “I don’t know what we ever did without her!

[The rest of my list is pictureless…]

  • The school year has gotten off to a good start. I have three helpers and a greatly diminished work load.
  • I am involved in a Bible study for North American women (only 2 of us are missionaries) that I love, love, love. I even got to lead it last week!
  • The nausea of the pregnancy seems to have [finally] passed.
  • We are, like I said, in a transition phase and it seems like we’re getting closer to answers. They may not be exactly what I wanted, but as I’ve been reading in some devotional books lately, obedience doesn’t mean you’re thrilled and ecstatic about it. It just means you love the Lord and want to serve Him. We aren’t called to LOVE what God is telling us to do and THEN do it. We’re called to obey because we love. I’m getting there. Slowly, but surely. I’m getting there.
  • My husband who lets me scream and cry and get mad about transitioning and then calmly says, “I’m not going to leave you. It’ll be okay” every single time.
  • The sermon series by Max Lucado we’re listening to right now entitled “You’ll Get Through This.” If you need something super encouraging, look it up online (oakhillschurch.com) and download the entire series. It’s on Joseph and well worth your time. “I’ll get through this. It won’t be easy and it won’t be quick, but I know that God will use this mess for good…”
  • And at this very moment – I’m thankful for a super (almost above and beyond super) quiet house – a baby asleep on my lap and one growing in my belly, students working quietly on their schoolwork in the corner, the smell of, what is that, potatoes? drifting through my window, and the sounds of a distant lawn mower. It’s just really soothing to the soul.
