Tags

DSC04572

 

I became a mom on September 29, 2010. 

DSC00734

 

And again on September 27, 2012. 

I’m not gonna lie; pregnancy is hard. It was hard both times for different reasons. With Elena, there was the normal aches and pains of a first pregnancy. Shingles in the 9th month kind of topped it all, though. Joseph made me sick – ohhh, so sick. And I felt absolutely enormous by the time I was done with him! Delivery is rough, too. Two c-sections in two years is hard on a body.

But, I wouldn’t trade being a mom for the world.

DSC00711

 

P1000676

 

Elena is my friendly, happy, energetic two year old. She is teaching me patience and the truth behind the verse, “A soft answer turns away wrath.” I love watching her learn and seeing new things. She’s incredibly bright and intuitive. She’s also stubborn and strong-willed. She’s learning about Jesus and has just recently started to pray by herself before meals. Tonight’s prayer was, “Thank you God for my food, for daddy, for mommy, for Joe-Joe, for Elena. Amen.”

If I could express anything to her tonight, I’d want to tell her:

Thank you, sweet baby girl, for being you. You have such a sweet heart – you care about your brother and seem to always know when one of us is hurting or sad. I love it when you’re wrapped up in your towel after your bath and we cuddle so you can get warm. I can’t believe even just a year ago you were little enough for me to hold and rock and put to sleep on my lap. I haven’t done that in months now and I miss those days. I’m so blessed to be your mama and I can’t wait to teach you more about life – how to cook, bake, clean, read, write, and play house. I love you so much, Elena. 

DSC00882

P1000945

Joseph is my unexpected surprise, my little man, my buddy. I was hoping to get pregnant last year, but wasn’t holding my breath too hard. When the test came back positive last Valentine’s Day, I was beyond excited, but so scared about the delivery. Our Lord was gracious, though, and gave me an easier delivery than Elena. I also wasn’t expecting a boy, but I’m so glad I got him. He’s my little man and I just can’t get enough of him (even though as I type this, he’s managed to wake up and is screaming bloody murder from his pack n play).

Joseph, thank you for entering our lives. You are so loving, friendly, and curious. I don’t know if I’ve seen a kid as curious as you at this age! You pull things off the shelves and about tip out of your walker straining to see what’s on the floor in front of you! You love your sister and think she’s absolutely hilarious, even as she’s sitting on top of you! I pray that you grow up to be a true man of God – a gentleman, a leader, an example. Follow in your daddy’s footsteps; he’s a great man to emulate. 

Mother’s Day is Sunday and I know this day is hard for those who have not been blessed with biological children, for whatever the reason. But, I have been blessed. I don’t deserve it and I’m not going to rub it in the faces of those who haven’t, but I am going to rejoice in the fact that God in His mercy and grace gave us two beautiful children to raise. I’m so thankful to be a mom, even on the days when I don’t think I’m very good at it. My kids are so special and have taught me so much about life, myself, and the Lord. My biggest prayer these days is that they will come to know Christ at a very young age. I cannot fathom eternity without them! My heart is filled to over-flowing love for my little ones.

Thank You, Father God, for lending them to me for these few short years. 

Children are a heritage from the Lord,
offspring a reward from him.

P1000823

 

