What officially tipped my vote.

January of 2010, in the middle of the Peruvian jungle, I had an OBGYN tell me that what was in my uterus was “not a baby.” She couldn’t tell me what it was; she could only tell me what it was not. When I pushed her on the subject, she answered with, “Well, it’s not cancer, no. If it stays there for a few more weeks and continues to grow, then you might end up with a baby. But right now I can’t tell you what it is.”

I walked out of that office and cried because I knew in my heart of hearts that what had blipped on that little screen in the tiny, hot, jungle office was not “nothing”. It was my first child. A little one that grew into the beautiful six year old she is today.

My friend who came with me explained afterwards that the doctors in the jungle see so many unwanted pregnancies and know of so many abortions that they can no longer bring themselves to call an unborn baby “a child.” They have to distance themselves from truth in order to justify all the illegal abortions in the city.

This campaign season has been horrid. I have struggled back and forth on what I’m going to do with my vote. I love the U.S. and I have always taken great pride in voting. I couldn’t wait to turn 18 and cast my first vote! I was literally in tears a week ago when I talked with my husband because I feel so hopeless about this election and had no idea what I was going to do. I am a firm believer that you cannot complain about our government if you choose not to vote. I just couldn’t figure out for myself who in the world I was going to vote for.

I didn’t think the debates would sway me one way or the other. I mostly just want to jump through the TV screen and slap a hand over Mr. Trump’s mouth and make him JUST STOP TALKING! For the love of anything good and lovely, JUST STOP TALKING!! But alas, we haven’t figured out that kind of technology yet so my husband had to endure my narrative each debate night.

This week, though, something actually was said that finally persuaded me. The topic? Abortion*. Finally {finally!!!} Mr. Trump said things I can firmly stand behind and agree with 100%. But, what really tipped me over was the response from Mrs. Clinton.

She talked extensively about her desire to continue funding Planned Parenthood and how they do such great things for women, but then she talked about the medical needs of late-term abortions. She talked about how it saves women’s lives to abort their babies at the last second. And then beyond that, she talked about how sometimes parents get awful news about the health of their child and instead of giving them a quality of life that would never be any good, they decide to end the pregnancy.

Remember when Mr. Trump mocked a reporter who had special needs? He then said he didn’t realize he was special needs, but there was a big fiasco anyway about it all. As well there should have been! What he did reminded me a 12 year old bully – someone so wrapped up in themselves that he didn’t even notice that someone had a disability. He didn’t like the question, so his initial response was to just mock the person submitting it. It was dumb, it was immature, it was uncalled for. It happened once.

Mrs. Clinton said Wednesday night that she is okay with terminating a pregnancy when there are disabilities present that would alter their quality of life. So, right before a child is born, a parent has the option of killing it simply because they have some sort of disability. Wait, wait, wait… how is that okay?

I’ve been pregnant three times. I’ve watched my babies wiggle, grow, suck their thumbs, wave, hiccup, and bounce. I’ve seen my children move to be closer to my husband’s voice. I’ve watched them change positions and have an all-out trampoline fest in utero.

Babies develop a sense of taste, hearing, and sight before being born. They begin to recognize voices and sounds. And most importantly: they feel pain. 

If a pregnant woman is murdered and the baby dies, the murderer is charged with double homicide. Yet, moments before giving birth, a mom can choose to “terminate the pregnancy” with no repercussions. What hypocrisy!

While we stand and judge Mr. Trump for a lapse in judgment, we applaud Mrs. Clinton for her stand for “women’s rights.” It makes no sense whatsoever. Mr. Trump mocked a man one time. Mrs. Clinton advocates making sure men similar to that reporter are never even born.

She talks about “quality of life.” I personally know families with children who have major disabilities. One girl is completely non-verbal and always has been. Yet, these children are some of the happiest children you will ever meet. They have had experiences with travel and life that most of us can only dream about! The girl who is non-verbal was told she would only live a few years. She is now 19 and so happy, you can’t help but smile when you meet her. According to Mrs. Clinton, she should’ve never even been born. And we’re okay with this?

No, I am not satisfied with my options this election year. To be honest, I think Mr. Trump has shot himself in the foot enough times that there’s no way he’ll be elected at this point. But, I refuse to allow my vote to go to a woman (the irony there slays me) who advocates late-term murder of viable, beautiful children. This is a slippery slope that will lead to so much more if we allow this kind of sinful thinking to continue to develop in our nation.

Pray about whom you will be voting for. Don’t just vote for one because you truly dislike the idea of the other. Research and see what each party stands for and pray for Godly direction. I can’t tell you what to do with your vote anymore than you can persuade me what to do with mine. I can only tell you that for me, this issue pushed me towards Mr. Trump. I’m not proud of that – there’s certainly others I prefer – but it is what it is. He is not supposed to be our spiritual leader; he is supposed to be our President. The choice is ours. Let us choose wisely.

*The clip I am referring to can be accessed here.

Leave a Reply

October 2016
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Jan »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
