Tags

, , ,

In the fall of 2006, Brian and I were settled happily into our three bedroom, two bath home in Belle Fourche, SD. We were both working jobs we enjoyed. Life in South Dakota was laid back. We had great friends, a good life.

But, every now and then, we’d look at each other in the quietness of the evening and say, “There must be something more.”

About this same time, I was attending a ladies’ Bible study on “The Patriarchs” by Beth Moore. I distinctly remember September 14, 2006 (well, in reality, I don’t remember the date, but it’s written in the workbook so we’ll go with that).

I told Brian immediately upon arrival home from the study, “I think God is taking us somewhere. I don’t know where and I don’t know when, but I’m not ready. And I think we need to be. This is going to be big.” Brian said, “Sure. Okay.” And went to bed.

IMG_20170515_215628937

See that title? “Leave Your Country.” I bet you know where I’m going with this now. 

Within a month, we heard about the needs in BCM Peru. By the beginning of 2007, our house was on the market. Middle of ’07, we were living in Pennsylvania and raising support. By March 2009, we were firmly landed in our new country: Peru. Four full years and two children later, God yanked us back out and placed us in Pennsylvania.

None of this was ever on our radar until after this particular Bible lesson in September 2006.

Now, here I am, more than 10 years later, using this same Bible study to help with writing my own Bible lesson. Unlike everything else I just mentioned, being a writer has always been on the radar. This year, I’m finally seeing this come to fruition. And in an odd way, seeing it all come full circle.

I can still hear Beth’s teaching on Genesis 15. I can still remember writing the question, “Where are you taking us?” on the lesson page. I could never have imagined I’d one day use this teaching to aid in my own writing.

I’m excited about the proposition of where this could go and based on the evidence of the last ten years, my imagination of “what comes next” could very well be way off.

Wherever you are is not where God wants you to stay… Fear God more than what He’s called you to do. -Beth Moore

