It never ceases to amaze me how quickly the years go by, especially since becoming a mom. I have definitely become more purposeful each year in how I live and the goals I set for myself. I began 2017 with fear and trepidation, feeling as if I was on a precipice and not sure what God was making me do next. After the LIT conference, I became purposeful in my writing. I wrote for the BCM World, the Kindred Mom blog, and then did some personal writing on the side.

Last night, I handed out that personal writing project to my Wednesday night volunteers in the kid’s ministry that I direct at church.

IMG_20180104_154029437

I have alluded to this project throughout this past year, but was quite apprehensive about making it public. Now, it’s in the piloting phase and I’m excited to share with you what’s been going on.

I have felt compelled to write my own children’s curriculum for church for quite awhile. I took the leap last spring and dove in full-force. I came up with my dream list of everything I am looking for in a children’s material for church and then I began writing. I had a group of people perusing it from about July forward and some even got back to me with changes and critiques. It’s a big project; it wasn’t surprising to me that it was too daunting for most and they had to bow out. As is, I’m positive I have my work cut out for me for years to come if God wishes for this to move forward.

I gained permission from church leadership and then from my Wednesday volunteers to pilot the material from now until May. It was with great fear, trepidation, nerves, and excitement that I handed the copies of my 2017 baby to my team last night. Will it work? Will they like it? Is it usable? I have no idea. My prayer now is that I will be humble enough to accept critique and wise enough to implement what’s needed.

I look at 2018 with resolve to keep going forward in this writing pipe dream I’ve had since I was a little girl. I know beyond a shadow of a doubt that God wanted me to write this material. Now, it’s up to him to do something with it.

2017 was full of surprises. Bring it, 2018. I’m all in.

IMG_20171226_174519280_HDR